EACJ Gets New Principal Judge

Arusha, 27 June 2013: The East African Court of Justice’s newly appointed Principal Judge Hon. Mr. Justice Jean Bosco Butasi officially took office today, replacing Hon. Mr. Justice Johnston Busingye who was recently appointed Rwanda’s Minister of Justice.

Two other Judges, Hon Mr. Justice Liboire Nkurunziza of the Appellate Division from Burundi and Hon. Mr. Justice Dr. Faustine Ntezilyayo of the First Instance Division from Rwanda, also took office.

The two were appointed and sworn in on 28 April this year during the 11th Extraordinary Summit of EAC Heads of State in Arusha, Tanzania. At the same meeting Mr. Justice Butasi was designated Principal Judge.

The new Principal Judge takes up residence in Arusha as required by a November 2011 Council of Ministers directive for the Court’s Judge President and Principal Judge to serve full time.

Justices Liboire Nkurunziza and Dr. Faustine Ntenzilyayo will, however, report for duty only when they have business in the regional Court.

Justice Butasi from Burundi has been a Judge at East African Court of Justice since June 2008. As the Principal Judge he will direct the work of the First Instance Division.

The Judge President of the Court Hon. Mr. Justice Harold Nsekela congratulated the Judges upon their new appointments and said he hoped for their good contribution in executing the role of the Court, which is to ensure adherence to law in interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty.

His Lordship Justice Nsekela also congratulated Justice Busingye upon his recent appointment as Minister and said the Court expected a lot of support from the ministry. The Judge President also appreciated Mr. Justice Laurent Nzosaba, an outgoing Judge of the Appellate Division, for the service rendered to EAC. He wished them well in their endeavors.

About the EACJ

The East African Court of Justice (EACJ or the Court), is the judicial arm of the East African Community established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community.

Operationalized in November 2001, the Court’s major responsibility is to ensure the adherence to law in the interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty.

Arusha is the temporary seat of the Court while Partner States’ High Courts serve as EACJ sub-registries.

For more information please contact:

Prof. Dr. John Ruhangisa, Registrar
Email: ruhangisa@eachq.org

Ms. Geraldine Umugwaneza, Deputy Registrar
Email: umugwaneza@eachq.org

Owora Richard Othieno, Head of Department;
Corporate Communications and Public Affairs;
EAC Secretariat
Tel: +255 784 835021; Email: othieno@eachq.org

East African Court of Justice
Arusha, Tanzania

Comments are closed.